Posted by: Drew | March 14, 2008

Fun Friday: Sigur Ros – Heima

So much of what we do here on elect Exiles is very serious–currently I have posts planned on Reconciliation to Christ and Divorce and Remarriage. Kevin is planning a series of posts on the various aspects of the gospel. We are quite serious in the things that we write on this blog and we should be as we want to bring glory to Christ in the things that we write on this blog. That said, I think its worth posting something fun from time to time and for the sake of alliteration, I suppose I will post these fun things on Friday!

We live in a dark world, one in which sin’s effects are widely felt. However, I think there are glimmers of image of God around us if we pay attention. So when I see a small glimmer of the image of God in man, from time to time I hope to point it out.

You may think I sound a little post-modern but I really do see the image of God (not in a saving way) in the band Sigur Ros. When God created Adam and Eve, he created them in His own image, and I think that part of what that means is that man has in inherent desire to create as well. Of course man will never come close to matching the creator’s ability to create, but nonetheless, the presence of the imago dei (Image of God) in man is the reason why man desires to create art, music, and literature.

So while I really do not know what worldview the band Sigur Ros holds to, I do know that they have created some incredibly beautiful music that reminds me that God has created me in his image. Such music isn’t possible unless we have a beautiful God who has created us in his own image.

So I wanted to tell you about an amazing video I saw this week. The video was made by the Icelandic band Sigur Ros and is titled Heima. Heima means “at home” and that is essentially what the film is about. The film follows the band on a tour through various small venues and intimate concerts played for free in the band’s home country of Iceland. The film was made in the summer of 2005, just after Sigur Ros had finished a long world-wide tour after receiving critical success for their album Takk (which I think will go down as one of the greatest albums ever made).

The music in Heima is beautiful, but so is the filming. I never thought I would have the desire to go to Iceland but after watching the film I really would like to see it. The free concerts that Sigur Ros plays are often out in the countryside of Iceland surrounded by beautiful scenery, also each of the songs includes video footage from various places around Iceland. I think the video is also an example of how music often brings people together–I think in part because of the imago dei.

While you will not be able to understand any of Sigur Ros’ lyrics (unless you speak Icelandic), I think you will find their music beautiful and an example of the fact that God has created us in His image and given us the ability to create beautiful works of art. I don’t know what worldview the band espouses and it is probably a good thing that I can’t understand their lyrics, because I can just appreciate the beauty of the music. The video above is a special version of the trailer of the film with the song “Hoppopolla” which is one of my favorite Sigur Ros songs, enjoy!

Responses

  1. I’m not too sure of the image of God thing, but they do make beautiful music. Beautiful almost beyond words.

  2. Drew, you mentioned God creating Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden. This is one of the many issues that led me away from the faith. In order to accept this story as historical fact, I was bound to accept the idea that humankind first walked the earth around 6,000 years ago. The evidence led me to deny that conclusion. As issues such as this began piling up, it became more and more difficult to view the bible as ultimately authoritative. Take care man.

  3. Perhaps rather than experiencing the image of God, it was the GLORY of GOD you were experiencing in the video. It reminded me of Psalm 19:1-3:

    1The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.

    2Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge.

    3There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard.

    Thanks for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

